Annual Awards Presented During RACC Banquet


The RACC was honored to present the annual achievement awards during the Chamber Banquet held on Saturday, January 20, 2018.  Details of the awards are listed below.  We would like to thank everyone who supported and attended the event.


The Edmund Ward Bishop Award is reserved for those individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime commitment to improving the quality of life for their friends, neighbors and business associates.

Jim Marcellus is a 4th generation Phelps County resident.  His great grandfather purchased land south of St. James in the 1870’s and for more than 100 years, his family has lived on the family cattle and row crop farm. 

Jim graduated from John F Hodge High School in 1967 and received a degree in History from the University of Missouri-Rolla in 1971.  Jim served in the military with the 471st Engineer Company, US Army Reserve from 1969 to 1975. 

Jim worked at the Meramec Regional Planning Commission as an Economic Development Officer; making SBA loans in conjunction with local banks for business development and job creation in the Central Missouri area.  Jim began working at Phelps County Bank in 1984 as a consumer and commercial loan officer and retired in 2015 after 32 years of employment.

Jim has an extensive public service record which includes PCRMC Board of Trustees for 10 years (6 years as Chairman of the Board), PCRMC Personnel Board and Lifetime Friend of the Auxiliary, Rolla Rotary Club, Rolla Police Board (Vice Chairman), St. James Lion’s Club (Past President), United Way of South Central Missouri (Past President), and Missouri Highway Patrol Community Alliance Board (Vice President).  Jim currently serves on the Rolla Public Library Board, Meramec Regional Planning Commission Board (Past President), Rolla Chamber Ambassadors, and serves as a VIPS Officer with the City of Rolla Police Department. 

Jim is an avid gun collector and has taught many firearms safety and shooting classes.  He puts his History degree to good use.  If you ever want to know anything about Rolla, especially Downtown, just ask Jim!

The Entrepreneurial Spirit Award is presented to individuals who have led their company toward significant entrepreneurial success in its industry, with excellent prospects for continued growth; consistently given their time, energy and expertise to assist in the development of entrepreneurs and entrepreneurial ventures; spearheaded the exceptional growth and performance of their company; achieved significant entrepreneurial success in any industry or business category through creativity, innovation, risk taking and the relentless pursuit of opportunity;  innovatively used new business practices, processes or technologies to lead his or her enterprise to higher levels of performance and success.

This year’s award is presented to Katy Langston Combs, owner of Red Door Gifts and More Red Door Boutique.

The Small Business of the Year Award is reserved for a business in the Rolla area that has excelled in one or more of these categories:  Business Growth, Business Management & Human Capital, Community Involvement, Intangible Considerations, and Marketing.

This year’s award is presented to Rolla Farmers Exchange who celebrated 95 years of business in the Rolla area during 2017.

The Spirit of Rolla Award is sponsored annually by Kent Jewelry and presented to a woman in the community in recognition for significant achievement and/or lifetime contribution to the spirit of giving that is so indicative of Rolla and the surrounding community.

This year’s recipient, Dr. May Bruns, is more than just a local doctor.  She is relentess in her pursuit to help those less fortunate.  Through her efforts in working with businesses to donate items they would otherwise throw out to give to those hungry and needy, the Rolla Church of the Nazarene has been able to feed over 1,000 people each month for several years.  Dr. Bruns also volunteers her time by serving on the Rolla Salvation Army and ABLE Commission boards and raises awareness of and money for American Red Cross.

The Annual Achievement Award is reserved for an individual or group of people who have shown exceptional service by recruiting and coordinating volunteers, while significantly contributing to the Chamber of Commerce and/or the Rolla community over the past year. 

This year’s award is presented to the Rolla Sister City Committee for their efforts in growing the annual Christkindl Markt and adding the First Night event.

The Tourism Champion Award is reserved for an individual or business that embodies the spirit of tourism in Rolla. This individual or business has made a substantial contribution to Rolla’s tourism industry by supporting Rolla events and/or attractions, partnering with the Chamber on tourism related projects, or any other effort designed to bring visitors into the Rolla community.

This year’s recipient is the Missouri S&T Experimental Mine.  The mine, specifically employees DeWayne Phelps and Jimmy Taylor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *